A Great Worship Song

Last night I listened to what I think is about the best song about the Holy Spirit that I’ve ever heard.

I was visiting my friends at Solmon’s Porch; who write all their own music. It has a unique and eclectic style that is often quite different than the typical immersive worship that I normally connect with. However, over the years, nearly every time I attend ‘The Porch” I personally have an intimate time of communion with the Holy Spirit during worship, regardless of what’s occurring among those around me.  Last night was no different.

In the song “She Moves,” written and led by Javier Sanpedro, the person of the Holy Spirit takes the form of an uncontainable, dancing nurturer present at creation who’s comforting presence is with and in us always.

I know some will be discomforted by the Spirit’s feminine portrayal, I on the other hand found that the imagery aroused my awareness of the Spirit’s character and heightened the eminence of that moment. There are so many great lines in the song that I asked Javier if I could print the whole thing, to which he agreed.

Unfortunately, no publicly available recorded version exists, so you will just have to visit the Porch yourself on the off-chance that they will play the song.

As you read ask yourself the following questions:

What are you favorite lines of this song and why?

How do you feel about a feminine portrayal of the Holy Spirit?

So without further adieu, I give you: “She Moves.”

She Moves
She moves across the waters
And to the farthest place on earth
Looking for the daughters
That will hear her children’s prayer

She doesn’t have a bias
As she dances through the sky
And sometimes she moves by us
But we mistake her for the wind

[Pre-chorus]
And in that place where the water meets the sky
Where dividing lines say their goodbyes

[Chorus]
She breathes
She reveals everything that’s ever been concealed
She moves
She cures all the wounds that never would have healed
She breathes
She moves and she will not let us go.

She walks among her children
In such an ordinary way
She talks of signs and miracles again
That birth halleluiah

[Chorus 2]
She breathes, She reveals, She moves and She cures
She breathes, She reveals, She moves and She cures
She breathes, She reveals, She moves and She cures
She breathes, She reveals, She moves and She cures
She breathes, She moves, and she will not let us go.

Javier and his wife Sarah attend and serve at Solomon’s Porch and live in Minneapolis with their three young children.

About johnmusick

revealist, writer, speaker, consultant, life-coach, polymath
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Great Worship Song

  1. Brent says:

    I attended Solomon’s Porch for two years and really learned to appreciate Javier, Ben, and Cory’s songwriting talents although I am also into the more immersive music.

    Personally I have no trouble with feminine language regarding God. In the book of Genesis, it says that God created man in his own image, “male and female he created them” so to be in image of God is as much feminine as it is masculine.

    On the other hand, I have a bit of uneasiness with a couple of the lines, that old feeling in my gut that I’ve learned that is the Holy Spirit nudging me when something is not quite right.

    Specifically, the first line of the second verse “she doesn’t have a bias” I think actually she does, I think she’s biased to truth, since it’s the job of the Spirit to lead us into truth. There have been times in my life when I consciously didn’t want to follow truth and knew I was not following truth because of this sick feeling that I’ve come to realize as the Spirit that would not let me alone. There have been other times that there was no rational reason for not doing something but still I didn’t do it because of this still small voice deep inside me that said “don’t”

    The other line that made me uncomfortable was “where dividing lines say goodbye”. It’s been my experience that the Spirit makes the dividing lines even more clear as to what will please the Lord and what will not “Whether you turn to the right or the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying this is the way, walk in it ” (Isaiah 30:21) It’s very clear that Jesus believed that truth will divide, why else would he say that one’s enemies would be found in one’s household.

    What is boils down to is Emergent’s view of propositional truth and mine, that’s why I left. If the truth will set you free, then there must be an opposite, which is not truth which will not set you free and it’s important to be able to discern between the two. Hence, dividing lines.

    • johnmusick says:

      Well it’s kind of interesting how the Holy Spirit deeply moved within me through the song but the Spirit made you uneasy. I think the line about not having a bias is a direct reference to John 3v8 where it talks about the wind blowing where it wants to. As far as the dividing lines, I think he’s just describing the separation that exists between flesh and spirit, the earthly and spiritual. But this is what the Holy Spirit does, it breaks through, the spirit is uncontainable and free. It’s in that place of the Spirit where the Spirit moves, breathes and heals. I think you might be reading more into than there is. Knowing Javier, I don’t think he’s bent on making some kind of commentary on emergent theology. I just listened with an open heart and gleaned what I could, which was a lot. I didn’t feel the need to activate the filters.
      Thanks for your comments Brent. I hope Iowa is treating you well!

    • johnmusick says:

      Well it’s kind of interesting how the Holy Spirit deeply moved within me through the song but the Spirit made you uneasy. I think the line about not having a bias is a direct reference to John 3v8 where it talks about the wind blowing where it wants to. As far as the dividing lines, I think he’s just describing the separation that exists between flesh and spirit, the earthly and spiritual. But this is what the Holy Spirit does, it breaks through, the spirit is uncontainable and free. It’s in that place of the Spirit where the Spirit moves, breathes and heals. I think you might be reading more into than there is. Knowing Javier, I don’t think he’s bent on making some kind of commentary on emergent theology. I just listened with an open heart and gleaned what I could, which was a lot. I didn’t feel the need to activate the filters.
      Thanks for your comments Brent. I hope Iowa is treating you well!

Leave a Reply

